Picture
Reinforcing Effort and Providing Recognition


I've joked that bribery and threats are my primary classroom management tactics.  But if I think about it, maybe it isn't much of a joke after all.  Marble jars, tiger tokens, check marks, card flips, sticker charts...I've used them all.  Even the traditional use of A's and F's can be viewed as such. The occasional arbitrary use of letter grades can be an external motivator to encourage a student to "learn" the objectives for the test. The focus of this chapter addressed the relationship between motivation and student achievement.  The two strategies discussed relating to motivation are reinforcing effort and providing recognition.   
Reinforcing Effort:  Teachers must explicitly teach students about the relationship between effort and achievement.  Ask students to keep track of their effort and achievement.  Share examples of effort and how the amount of effort impacted the achievement. (Rocket Math and P.A.L.S. both provide opportunities for tracking effort/achievement.)
Providing Recognition: If done inappropriately, recognition can have negative consequences. Recognition should be based on meeting goals rather than comparing students' performances.  "How you praise, what you praise, and when you praise matters."  Praise must be sincere and specific.  Tangible rewards can have a positive effect if tied to accomplishment of objectives.  
Today's Learners: Students have the opportunity to publish work in a variety of media formats.  Receiving recognition from peers, teachers, students from other classrooms/schools/countries through blogs or Skype can spark a new interest in learning.  (Using reinforcements that come with programs like ScootPad and RAZ Kids are quick, quiet and self-monitored.)  
Tips for Teaching: Curriculum should include learning about effort and the connection between effort and success.  Praise should be simple, direct, and specific to the accomplishment.  Students should feel appreciation from the varied verbal and non-verbal recognition.  



Marca Hayter
7/10/2012 11:35:03 pm

Lisa, thank you for this post! You have motivated me to get a copy of this book as I have not read this updated version. As I moved from the elementary classroom to intermediate, I still struggle to find what works to motivate some students. I have found that even 6th graders like to have their effort and success acknowledged. I have recently been making a conscious effort to reward improvement in student effort and their individual effort. I have noticed it has had a very positive impact on students that never seem to receive any other recognition. I hate to admit it, but I am starting to get my mind set on the upcoming school year. Good luck to you in yours!

Reply
7/17/2012 02:31:09 am

Hi, Marca, thanks for the nice comments. It was a pleasant surprise to hear from you. I visited my classroom yesterday and it made me want to spend a week setting up shop. I guess I'll wait until the air conditioning is on again. I hope you have a great year. Let me know if any of your new kiddos mention having me as their third grade teacher. Take care.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.