It is always so exciting yet so daunting to step back into the classroom after having the summer off.  On this particular day, I know that I only have about 4 hours to dive in and at least get started.  But, where to start?  My goal was to have the basic set up of the room started and have my teacher area ready for work.  Setting up my desk took about an hour, with most of that time setting up the computer, Smartboard, DVD, etc.  The bulk of the remaining 3 hours was spent deciding where to have my classroom library, cleaning off the shelving and starting to organize the books.  Those three hours flew by.  I spent all day Tuesday and Wednesday at a PLC adaptive school training and learned a lot about group collaboration, group dialogue and discussions.  To do list: sew new curtains, go shopping, (other than a quick stop for Staples cheap back to school weekly sale, I've purchased nothing), new labels for everything, clean carpets, experiment with the on-line plan book, create student agendas, create a few of the amazing things I've found over the summer on Pinterest,  and so much more BEFORE the first day back for teachers, AUGUST 13.



Leave a Reply.